Blogs > Grizzlies Den

Drew Ellis covers Oakland University basketball for The Oakland Press. His news and notes keep you up to date with Golden Grizzlies men's basketball.

Thursday, March 3, 2011

Oakland cleans up at Summit awards

It was anticlimactic, but Oakland center Keith Benson repeated as Summit League Player of the Year as expected, while junior guard Reggie Hamilton was also named to the conference's first team. Senior Larry Wright won the sixth man award, while Benson is the defensive player of the year. Freshman guard Travis Bader was named to the league's newcomer team and Greg Kampe is the coach of the year.
According to the Summit League, Oakland's four accolades were the most won by a single team in league history. Benson is also the first player in conference history to earn player of the year and defensive player of the year honors in the same season.
The coaching award is Kampe's fourth after leading the Grizzlies to their second consecutive 17-1 season and reaching a 20-game win streak, the longest in conference history.


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home